Hi all:

You’ll remember a couple of weeks ago I published a post on reviews (by the way, many thanks for all the comments. It was one of the most dynamic posts I’ve published and I enjoyed the discussion it created). As I mentioned, apart from just reading for the blog and posting the reviews in a variety of sites, I do reviews for BTS e-magazine (click on the widget at the bottom of the post to go to the current number if you enjoy reading about new books and checking reviews) and although the actual reviews belong to the magazine, I like to share some of the books if I think you might enjoy them.

I’ve read some pretty heavy books recently and I don’t know you, but I like to combine light reads with heavier stuff. I reviewed these two books for the magazine, both by female authors, that I enjoyed and were like a breath of fresh air.  I’ll give you a taster and you can see what you think:

The Contract by Violet Ryan

The Contract by Violet Ryan

The Contract by Violet L. Ryan

Orphaned Grace Barnett receives many proposals because her property has a dependable year-round water supply. She agrees to marry Jacob Cooper, the stranger from the ranch next door who claims he’ll never fall in love. They’ll have only a straightforward contract.

Jilted two years before, Jake doesn’t trust women. He wants water rights, heirs, and a peaceful home. He expects the boyish girl next door to provide these without the messiness of emotions. When he sees her walk down the aisle, dressed as a woman, clean, and lovely, an inner struggle begins. Two strangers learning to live together in a house filled with emotional conflict and family intrigue will test their ability to cope and hinder chances to fall in love.

Links:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00NZIHKSY/

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00NZIHKSY/

One paragraph from my review to give you an idea of what I thought:

With arch-villains, scheming ex-loves and relatives, handsome cowboys, formidable women, sexy Native-Americans and plenty of action, what the characters lack in psychological depth and consistency, they make up for in the sheer variety of misunderstandings and adventures they get involved in.

It reminded me of ‘The Little House of the Prairie’ and it made me smile.

I loved the heroine who is innocent but resourceful and I think you’ll like her too. And the rest of the characters added to the mix.

The author has written quite a few books and she sounds like someone I’d like to meet. Just check her page here:

http://www.amazon.com/Violet-L.-Ryan/e/B00A3A1G8M/

On quite a different note, setting and everything, but again written by another formidable female author (Australian in this case), I read:

See You in Hell (Mel Goes to Hell Series Book 2) by Demelza Carlton

See You in Hell (Mel Goes to Hell Series Book 2) by Demelza Carlton

See You In Hell (Mel Goes to Hell. Book 2)

A devilishly hot CEO. The angelic new office temp. A match made in Heaven or Hell?

Melody Angel takes a job as a temp at the HELL Corporation. Surrounded by eternal bureaucracy gone mad, demons who love making life miserable, and dying for a decent coffee, it may take a miracle for Mel’s mission to succeed. She must find out what evil plans Lucifer and his minions have in store and stop them, using any means necessary.

Adding trouble and temptation to Mel’s job is Luce Iblis, the damnably hot CEO, who has set his smouldering eyes on the new office angel and he’s determined to claim her, body and soul.

Can ultimate evil and angelic perfection escape a limbo of desire and find a paradise of their own?

A tiny taste of what’s in store:

“Do you know how long you’ve made me wait?” Luce lifted his chin. “Close the door.”

Mel turned and kicked the door shut with the sole of one shoe. The click of it closing coincided with her eyes meeting Luce’s once more.

“Now strip and get your arse on the desk,” Luce instructed.

Mel stared at him. He couldn’t be serious, could he?

“Every other girl in this building knows how to do as she’s told. Do you know how many girls I’ve had on this desk? You should consider yourself lucky. The last one I had in here was so quick getting undressed that I managed to give her a full fifteen minutes of my time. At this rate, you’ll be lucky to have five.”

Mel became transfixed by the timber desktop. “Did you wipe it clean afterwards?”

“What?” Luce’s face reddened.

Mel Goes to Hell series

This is the second book in the Mel Goes to Hell series, which includes:

  • Welcome to Hell (#1) – FREE
  • See You in Hell (#2)
  • Mel Goes to Hell (#3)
  • To Hell and Back (#4)
  • The Holiday From Hell (#5) (to be released 26 March 2015)
  • Melody Angel’s Guide to Heaven and Hell.

Links:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00JZZODA4/

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00JZZODA4/

This book I must tell you I thoroughly enjoyed. Despite what you might think, it is not erotica (it’s not high in my list of priorities and unless I’m really interested in the book I’ll avoid books where that’s the main focus) and no descriptive sex, although it is sexy (but you might disagree). What I don’t think you’ll disagree on is that it’s a good read and fun.

This is the beginning of my review:

If like me, you’ve also imagined hell as a bureaucratic nightmare where political correctness and paperwork are masters and your boss is Lucifer himself, you should read this novel. Imagine a world where Hell is in charge of most branches of the public sector.

There is romance, a fantastic angel at the centre of the book, and the cast of characters reminded me of Greek gods, as angels and demons are very human and recognisable, and by the end of it…Oh well, you go on and read it.

And, extremely good news. If you want to try the first short story in the series, this one is free:

Welcome to Hell (Mel Goes To Hell Book 1) by Demelza Carlton

Welcome to Hell (Mel Goes To Hell Book 1) by Demelza Carlton

Welcome to Hell (Mel Goes to Hell Book 1)

“Good morning. Welcome to HELL.”
Mel hates job interviews – and this one’s shaping up to be the interview from Hell.

From the grumpy receptionist to the disturbingly demonic interview panel and the sleazy CEO, it seems landing her first job is the least of Mel’s worries.

Can she make it out of the office alive without selling her soul?

A tiny taste of what’s in store:

Lilith opened the door, waiting for Mel to leave first. Mel did so, almost running into a man in a dark suit.

His coffee splashed high, yet he caught most of it in his cup. Not a spot landed on Mel – just one on the man’s shoe. “Damn,” he swore, swiping at it with a black handkerchief that appeared almost instantly in his hand. As he rose from his crouch, he took in Mel’s attire, from her toes to her raised eyebrows.

He summoned a smile that clashed with the stormy expression in his eyes. “I don’t believe I’ve seen you in the office before and I make it a point to know all of my staff intimately.” He handed the dripping cup to Mel’s haughty interviewer, who took it without a murmur, even as some of the coffee slopped onto Lilith’s shoes.

He held out his hand to shake Mel’s. “Luce Iblis, CEO of the HELL Corporation.”

Mel gave him her fingers, in such a way that he couldn’t crush them in his firm handshake.

“I’m Mel,” she began.

“This is her first time here. She’s being interviewed for a position here at Health, Environment, Life and Lands Corporation – as my executive officer,” Lilith said.

Luce’s eyes stared hungrily at Mel as she lowered her gaze. “Is that so? I suspect I’ll be seeing a lot more of you very soon, then. I look forward to welcoming you to HELL.”

Links:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00IL9ZDH2/

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00IL9ZDH2/

When I finished the previous one I wanted to start reading this one but unfortunately my Kindle hadn’t downloaded it properly (only to the Cloud) and I had no connection where I was at the time. And then I started reading another book so… But I must say I found the other one therapeutic.

And just in case you like Boxsets:

Welcome to Hell by Demelza Carlton

Welcome to Hell by Demelza Carlton

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00S6IK3QY/

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00S6IK3QY/

Thank you for reading, thank you to BTS e-magazine and to both authors, and you know, like, share, comment, CLICK, and of course, don’t forget to check the magazine!