Cover of "Kindle Wireless Reading Device,...

Cover via Amazon

I started publishing last October. Whilst writing I’ve been doing for a long time, publishing it’s a new thing. Yes, I heard about digital publishing and thought it was worth a try. What I didn’t quite comprehend was that I’d have to become an expert in marketing to try and get my book sold.

But I read about it. I tried what blogs, articles, books, word of mouth said. I must say I can’t read one more word on the subject. My head is spinning, I have no time to do everything I’m supposed to be doing. I have a full time job, I don’t have much of a life but still, a tiny bit of it, and there’s no human being who can do everything that is suggested and survive.

I was talking to a friend and fellow author and ranted on marketing, as we both were saying we needed time to write: Here goes what I wrote, among other things:

Join this! Do that! Blog the other! Sign here! Become an Associate! Pay me and I'll make you gold! Are you gold? Everybody gives advice. 'I published my book and sold thousands' Well, I'm pleased for you. Keep doing it. If you make so much money why do you want mine?

She loved it and I couldn’t help but keep thinking about it. And came up with a few more:

Change your cover! Change your description! Create an author page in Amazon! Not only in Amazon.com, in all of its stores! Publish in other platforms! Join KDP Select! Get off KDP Select! Get paid reviews! Don’t pay for reviews! Create a book page in Facebook! Create an author page in Facebook! Like my page! Do a press release! Organise a giveaway and give your book free! Don’t give your book free; it has a negative effect on everybody else! Increase the price! Reduce the price! Change the categories! Understand the algorithms! Use analytics! Use calls to action! Do a cover reveal! Join Pinterest! Join Goodreads! Be my friend! Join Twitter! Retweet! Have a book trailer! Do contests! Use Rafflecopter! Do blog tours! Do blog hops! Pay for promotion! Use free sites! Content is key! Style is key! Know you target audience! Create a platform! Interact don’t just advertise! Be interesting! Be yourself!

If you have no idea what I’m talking about, consider yourself lucky. If you do, don’t worry, we’re all in the same boat. Hopefully it won’t be the Titanic.

Keep smiling.

I feel better now.

(As an added noted, I’ve met great people in the process, made new friends, and have some laughs along the way. But oh boy…)

Ah, and the piece of advice I’ve decided to follow (because it tells me to do what I really want to do, and what better advice than that?) is to write more, because the more books you have, the more likely you are to be discovered as your books will cross-promote each other.

So I’m off to write. Thanks for reading!