Hi! It’s me again. Jesús. I’m still extremely ugly and surviving it. Thankfully ugliness doesn’t kill you and beauty doesn’t make you eternal (that’s a scary thought!). I thought I’d come back to tell you a bit of some of the slightly ‘alternative’ things that have happened in my life…I told  you about my birth and my name and all those things…Well, my mother, Adelina, got married when I was about 5 or so, to the mayor’s son. Senén. Handsome man, not too complicated…Kind enough to me and all. No complaints. He decided to move to the city and get into politics. You can read more details of the campaign and things in the book. I only know what they’ve told me later and the few things I remember, but I’ve never been much into politics…I’ve always left that to others in the family.

No, more interesting than that was…I had a sister…Stephanie, although we always called her Stephie…Half-sister, really, but that’s never made a difference. She was a beautiful baby and everybody thought that we were like the beauty and the beast (or angel and demon). I could live with that. Girls are always expected to be prettier anyway.

On the day of the elections (Senén was candidate to mayor for the capital) after the voting (that was rather funny too…Senén was wearing his slippers, forgot his ID, had to go to the toilet…we had to go back home 3 times!) my mother went to a spa and left Senén with Carmen. Carmen was a lawyer he knew from years back and was looking after his political career…Or so I thought at the time. Carmen and Senén locked themselves in the office, to ‘work’ and I was in the lounge, when suddenly Stephie, who was a toddler, not yet 1, said ‘Hello!’ and then started talking fluently. I nearly fell off! She’d only babbled a bit and had said ‘papa’ earlier that day, but nothing like a full conversation…She told me she had to start talking because things were a mess. I went to tell the cook (my nanny was out and there was nobody else in the house. Thinking about it Senén and Carmen should have been looking after us, but…) and rather than telling her I grabbed her hand and took her to the lounge. When Stephie started talking to her, she fainted…Luckily she didn’t hurt herself. Now there was nobody else I could tell, as Senén and Carmen hadn’t come out of the office, so I had a chat with my sister. She was very clever and showed lots of common sense. She told me I was too young to tell me what was really going on (the cheek!) and comforted me about my problems at school, telling me things would change and I wouldn’t have to play the baddy in all the games for much longer. She was right…She would be right ever since…

When Senén and Carmen finally came out of the office they were surprised, but also embarrassed when my sister started talking to them. I didn’t get the meaning of what she was telling them, something about Carmen riding Senén and things…It didn’t make sense to me at the time. When our mother came back and she told her about their meetings in the office, it seemed it was something really bad, as Adelina kicked Carmen out and started sleeping alone. Senén looked sad after that, but Stephie became a star. TV, magazines, everybody wanted a piece of her! And by association I became more popular, because I was the brother of the ‘fantastic girl’.

And how fantastic she was!

If you want to read more, check:

‘The Man Who Never Was’ http://www.amazon.com/dp/B009TWRT22

http://askdavid.com/free-book-promotion